top of page

Word From The Herd ~ A Word To The 'Busy'

“Do not chase the butterfly. Mend your garden. Let the butterfly come.” (Unknown)

Balance is very important in life. People go on about how 'busy' they have been. I've been guilty of it myself.

Sometimes, we choose busy because we are actually avoiding tackling something, or because we don't want others to get too close. So we busy ourselves, to hold the world and progress at bay.

We 'busy' ourselves because we don't think we're worth anything at rest, so we make excuses in order to slow down in between actually getting things done. We 'busy' ourselves doing things in a half-hearted way. We procrastinate. So that our bodies can catch up. So we can go on j-u-s-t coping.

Women, particularly, are very good at this. I imagine some men are as well.

These days, I focus on being productive rather than busy. Because in actual fact, we are all worth something, whatever we are doing.

Being productive includes taking time out for myself. My health is important. Improving my health through times of rest and relaxation, and self-care, is productive in that it helps me to achieve more later. It's also productive in that it gives me the physical and emotional energy to be able to care fully and wholly for others, including the animals.

Horses, just as a matter of interest, are very productive. Every single thing they do has a purpose. Even rest. Even play. You never see a 'busy' horse unless a human is involved.

So instead of being busy, try to rest. Rest is productive. Admit to it. Refreshing yourself will help you care better for self, and others. Balance things out. And when you are ready, be productive in other ways.

photos (c) KAW

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page