top of page

Word From The Herd ~ Flexibility vs. Adaptability

"Saying YES isn’t as easy as it sounds, is it? It means if you get a wrong answer, it’s on you to find a better way to ask. You have to say YES to your own creativity and spontaneity. Like chess, you must think ahead. It takes more energy to be positive. But we knew that; being critical is also the laziest thing in the world. Saying YES requires us to stay engaged every second. We must mentor that energy and responsiveness we want from horses by staying engaged and positive." ~ Anna Blake

Flexibility vs. Adaptability...

I haven't been feeling too well for a few days (all good, not sick or coughing, just overtired and a bit run down...at 52 I am nearly over menopause but the insomnia that can come with it is a bitch)... 😉

I didn't think it was safe for me to drive on Tuesday, I was too tired. So my lovely husband took the day off his work to do my part-time job, which is a local rural mail run of 160km.

His comment was...'I'm not flexible, but I'm adaptable.' 😆

He was being both metaphorical and literal. Kevin has (spinal) scoliosis, quite a bad reverse 'S', infact. He isn't physically flexible, but his ability to adapt his body means he can get things done - farm work, office work, riding with amazing natural balance and grace...etc. His carriage is such that most people don't even notice. Lots of bodywork helps.

It got me thinking. Our bodies are amazing things. In some ways I'm the opposite of Kevin. I'm actually quite physically flexible for my age. I can still bend from the waist, legs straight, and place both hands flat on the ground, that sort of thing. Mind you, I do a lot of gentle exercise here every day, around the farm. (And sometimes not so gentle!)

That said, I don't believe I'm as flexible mentally or emotionally as Kevin. I have a few control issues from too much past change in my life, even though change is inevitable. I'll say that again...everything changes. Every minute of every day. It's both a blessing and a sword. This is why learning mindfulness and enjoying the moment is so important.

I've had to work at #gowiththeflow all my life. But I am very adaptable. I can read a room. I can fit in to new places and situations without too much trouble.

Sometimes it's hard to be flexible in this world. We put our defences up to keep ourselves safe. We reinforce our boundaries. Which is OKAY. It is what it is. So...if you find it hard to be flexible, work on becoming more adaptable if necessary. Attitude is everything. Adapt it to suit. Compassionately.

I compare it to many horses who often live with sore and tight bodies. They may not be as flexible, but they compensate with their bodies. They adapt to survive. To be ridden. Infact they are so good at adapting, sometimes you don't even notice the inflexibility. Unfortunately...

We can help them regain their flexibility by taking care of them and providing the right support through bodywork, gentle stretches, dietary changes, etc.

They can help us become more adaptable by teaching us to stay in the flow, physically and emotionally. Which in turn teaches us flexibility.

Things are confusing and scary for many souls in the world right now. Not just the humans. Being more aware of who we are and how we work, and what we can do to support ourselves, and therefore others, is important. And also something most of us can work on in our own homes, or with our own animals.

My goal is to become kinder and more flexible as I mature. In the mean time, I'm adapting.

How about you?

🙏❤️

all photos (c) KAW

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page